Skip to content

New chief and council elected in Taykwa Tagamou Nation

Bruce Archibald was re-elected as the chief
Stock image

Taykwa Tagamou Nation has elected a new chief and council.

The election was held in person on Oct. 13 with COVID-19 safety measures in place.

Bruce Archibald was re-elected as the chief, while Coun. Derek Archibald was elected as the deputy chief.

Archibald said he's proud that members are actively engaged in the community.

"And our recent election confirms just this”, he said in an Oct. 15 news release. “I am so pleased to have the support of our community in being re-elected as chief, so that we may continue doing everything within our power to make sure that Taykwa Tagamou Nation continues to prosper on the strong path we are on now.”

Deputy Chief Archibald said he’s humbled to have gained the trust of community members to become the next deputy chief.

“Our council has, and always will, advocate for meaningful participation in the economy, and that means development which is sustainable and driven by the values we’re lucky to have learned through our rich culture, our relationship with our land, and the wisdom of those who have come before us,” he said in the statement.

Chief and four councillors in the Nation are elected for a four-year term.

Taykwa Tagamou’s new councillors are Melissa Archibald, William Archibald, George Ross, Stanley Sutherland, and Youth Coun. Jamal Gagnon.

According to the press release, Gagnon has “definitive goals” for his upcoming tenure. He’s also a youth representative for Ininew Friendship Centre in Cochrane and youth ambassador for Mushkegowuk Council.

“Throughout our term, our victories as a council will be indicative of how well we inspire our youth regarding their many gifts and possibilities, while standing on the shoulders of the Elders that came before us,” he said.


Dariya Baiguzhiyeva

About the Author: Dariya Baiguzhiyeva

Dariya Baiguzhiyeva is a Local Journalism Initiative reporter covering diversity issues for TimminsToday. The LJI is funded by the Government of Canada
Read more