Skip to content

Ward 5 race for Timmins council heating up

Nominations open until July 27
2018-05-07 Timmins City Hall MH
Timmins City Hall. Maija Hoggett/TimminsToday

With the provincial election out of the way, the race for a seat at the Timmins council table is heating up.

Alex Szczebonski, who is a director of the Timmins Taxpayers’ Association and member of the Timmins and District Hospital board, filed his nomination papers earlier this week.

Cory Robin and Jason Sereda — who works at the Canadian Mental Health Association, is an executive member of the NDP federal riding association and is involved in a number of social services organizations — also added their name to the list of people running in the ward.

The ward, which goes from Highway 655 to the Mattagami River, is represented by four councillors.

Liliane Francis has also filed to run for French public school trustee.

The nomination period for the municipal election is open until July 27 at 2 p.m. Election day is Oct. 22.

The other nominations so far are:

• Mayor - Steve Black

• Ward 1 - Rock Whissell, Veronica Farrell

• Ward 4 - John Curley

• English public school board trustee - Bob Brush

• English Catholic school board trustee - Colleen Landers

If you're interested in running for council, find out what you need to know here.

You can keep track of the full list of people running for council and school board here


Maija Hoggett

About the Author: Maija Hoggett

Maija Hoggett is an experienced journalist who covers Timmins and area
Read more