Skip to content

New chief elected in Mattagami First Nation

The new council members will serve a four-year term
Jennifer Constant has been elected as the new chief for Mattagami First Nation.

A new chief has been elected for Mattagami First Nation.

Jennifer Constant is the chief-elect for the community located in the Gogama area, between Timmins and Sudbury. She has previously served as a councillor in the community.

The election was held on Saturday, Sept. 30. It also saw Devin Naveau, Cindy McKay, Dereck McKay, Janelle Golinowski, Sue Prince and Kourtney Baulne elected as councillors.

Three people were running for the chief's position. 

Constant won with 97 votes. Chad Boissoneau, the incumbent who was first elected as chief in 2017, received 68 votes, and Walter Naveau had 42 votes.

The chief and council members will serve a four-year term. They are slated to be sworn in on Oct. 18.