Skip to content

Five new members named to the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame

David Ross Bell's 'nose for ore' led to Hemlo gold discovery
(Canadian Mining Hall of Fame Facebook photo)

Five new members are being inducted to the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame for 2024.

Selected for their contribution to the industry, they will be recognized at a gala dinner at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre on Jan. 11.

The 2024 inductees are:

  • David Ross Bell
  • Ross D. Lawrence
  • William E. Roscoe & John T. Postle
  • Eric Sprott

Geologist David Ross Bell gained a reputation as someone with a ‘nose for ore,’ a trait that led to a world-class discovery of high-grade gold at Hemlo along the north shore of Lake Superior in the 1980s.

Ross D. Lawrence’s expertise in mineral property valuation, policy development, and economic analysis of mining projects earned him international recognition.

William E. Roscoe and John T. Postle built Roscoe Postle Associates, a renowned mining consulting firm.

Eric Sprott is known for his “trailblazing investment” in the Canadian junior mining sector.

“Our 2024 inductees are visionaries in different parts of our industry who share a common approach – they identify opportunities and transform them into reality,” said Janice Zinck, chair of the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame, in a news release.

“These five individuals are deserving of this honour for their tireless commitment to unlocking discoveries, building projects and generating value to the benefit of Canada as a whole.”