Skip to content

Election writ being issued today. Here's who's running in Timmins so far

Four candidates confirmed
signs election stock

With parliament dissolved, the writ for the June election is being issued today.

That means Ontarians will be heading to the polls June 7 to elect an new provincial government. It is also the first time local residents will be voting in a Member of Provincial Parliament for the riding of Timmins.

Since the last election, the Timmins-James Bay riding was split into two. Timmins is now on its own, with the second new riding of Mushkegowuk-James including communities along Highway 11 from Smooth Rock Falls to Hearst and north to Peawanuck.

Here’s who we know is running in Timmins so far:

Liberal Mickey Auger – A familiar face to many in the community, Auger is a retired police officer, the president of the South Porcupine Food Bank, and volunteer with the Timmins Native Friendship Centre’s board.

NDP Gilles Bisson – The incumbent was first elected in 1990. When announcing his candidacy earlier this year, he said choosing what riding to run in was a difficult decision, but one of the main factors for choosing Timmins is that it’s where he was born and raised, and still lives.

Northern Ontario Party Gary Schaap – The party’s vice president and the interim president of the Timmins riding association, wants to ensure a stronger voice for Northern Ontarians. According to the party, he has experience and knowledge of the forestry, farming, mining, trucking and natural resources industries.

Progressive Conservative Yvan Genier – A new face for local politics, Genier is a financial advisor for the Knights of Columbus. He has also worn a number of hats through the years, including funeral director, teacher, volunteer firefighter, and a Canadian Armed Forces military reservist at Algonquin Regiment as logistics officer.