From the Timmins Museum: National Exhibition Centre:
The old entrance to the Dome Mine from the townsite is no doubt a sight that many will remember.
In recent history, the townsite was removed in order to begin open-pit operations at the mine. But in 1936, when the Canadian Motion Picture Company was in town to document the Dome Mine, a collection of employee houses stood guard before the main gates.
These houses, closest to the mine, were occupied by mine managers and salaried employees. Another collection of houses a short distance away at the Dome Extension site were occupied by supervisors and hourly-rated workers. By 1942, the mine company had built 130 houses for its employees.
The other notable feature of the photograph is the No. 3 Headframe, originally completed in 1913. Headframes hold the pulleys and other mechanical workings which operate the elevator system inside the mine shaft. Cages transport employees within the mine, and skips haul the ore up to the surface.
While each headframe has its own unique characteristics, all together they stand as a symbol of our community’s identity and roots.
Each week, the Timmins Museum: National Exhibition Centre provides TimminsToday readers with a glimpse of the city’s past.