Skip to content

New names added to Timmins election race

There are still two wards with no candidates
2018-05-07 Timmins City Hall MH
Timmins City Hall. Maija Hoggett/TimminsToday

With two weeks left to sign up for the municipal election, the slate of names in Timmins remains small with some wards having no candidates. 

Based on the city's unofficial list of candidates as of 2:30 p.m. today (Aug. 5), there still aren't enough candidates for a full Timmins council. The nomination deadline is Aug. 19. 

Two additional people have registered to run in Ward 5.

The new candidates are Ed "Edge" Stecewicz and Neil David Siblall. They join Cory Robin, who has filed his papers for a second term at the table. 

Rock Whissell is seeking re-election in Ward 1 (Mountjoy).

In Ward 2 (South Porcupine), Mickey Auger is seeking re-election and Marcus Niebler is also running.

There are no registered candidates for Ward 3 (Schumacher) or Ward 4 (Porcupine/Connaught).

So far Michelle Boileau is the only mayoral candidate. 

RELATED: Want to run for city council? Here’s what you need to know

In Timmins, there are nine seats at the table. The mayor is elected at large, with everyone getting to cast a ballot.

One councillor is elected for Ward 1 (Mountjoy), Ward 2 (South Porcupine), Ward 3 (Schumacher) and Ward 4 (Porcupine), and Ward 5 is represented by four councillors. You can look at the ward maps here

For school board trustees, the race for English public trustees includes Mark Clemence, Bob Brush, and Stephen Meunier. 

The English separate trustee candidates are Colleen Landers, Ron MacInnis and Paula Del Guidice. 

The French public trustee candidates are Liliane Francis and Nicole Arcand. In the French separate trustee race, the candidates are Langis Dion, and Denis Belanger.

Nominations for the municipal election started May 2 and are open until Aug. 19. Election day is Oct. 24.